Author Topic: Issues with Mojave  (Read 951 times)

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Issues with Mojave
« on: November 21, 2018, 09:35:03 PM »
I try to extract channels in Instrument page. Right, so if I select the file it goes away, toasts the first issue, the I hit the extract command and get.

Im not buy a damn PC to run Loom

can't read "chlist": no such variable
can't read "chlist": no such variable
    while executing
"llength $chlist"
    (procedure "GetParamsAndRunProgram" line 179)
    invoked from within
"GetParamsAndRunProgram"
    (procedure "GotoProgram" line 101)
    invoked from within
"GotoProgram                   "
    (procedure "Dlg_Process_and_Ins_Menus" line 445)
    invoked from within
"Dlg_Process_and_Ins_Menus"
    (procedure "GotoGetAProcess" line 207)
    invoked from within
"GotoGetAProcess                        "
    ("1" arm line 10)
    invoked from within
"switch -regexp -- $pr_ins  $evv(INS_COMPLETED) -    $evv(INS_ABORTED)    {}    $evv(INS_CONTINUES) {                     ;#   Instrument sets out to run process
            set ins..."
    (procedure "CreateIns" line 163)
    invoked from within
"CreateIns"
    invoked from within
".workspace.1.a.top.machcr invoke"
    ("uplevel" body line 1)
    invoked from within
"uplevel #0 [list $w invoke]"
    (procedure "tk::ButtonUp" line 23)
    invoked from within
"tk::ButtonUp .workspace.1.a.top.machcr"
    (command bound to event)[/list]

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2018, 09:35:56 PM »
Who is overseeing the dev of the soundloom for OS X? Cause from my impression it isn't Wishart who advised me to use a PC. Which I just don't want to do

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2018, 09:44:39 PM »
Actually I might heed his warning and install bootcamp. Unless that's a bad Idea

rwdobson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2018, 09:54:13 PM »
Please check that you have the program "housekeep" in the _cdprogs directory under  cdpr7/_cdp. That is the program used to extract channels. It looks as though it erroneously got called "houskeep" (as used on the PC version) in the installer, which among other things would mean that "HOUSEKEEP" does not appear in the list of available processes. If this is the case, just rename it to "housekeep" and all should be well. This will of course be fixed in an update to the distribution.

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2018, 10:18:39 PM »
Ok, Ill try that, I have to use the emac version as bootcamp won't let me use an external ssd as my OS.  Speeds up my iMac dramatically not giving that up

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2018, 10:36:45 PM »
I just saw the other file, I guess with fixes? 7.1? Hope it works out. Thanks

rwdobson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2018, 10:53:58 PM »
Yes indeed. Among other things it eliminates the need to install an environment variable. Check the "housekeep" name there, it's a silly error as we moved to a different build system for the programs. We are working on a new install system, probably based on a simple disk image (dmg), and with the new HTML and pdf documentation by Robert Fraser; and on full 64bit builds of the programs in readiness for the next iteration of the OS which will discontinue support for 32bit binaries.

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2018, 11:31:57 PM »
Ok, I just dropped all the 7.1 progs into the folder with the correct spelling.

Is there something I need to do to reinitialize Loom to use these progs? Because Im getting this error when I try to extract channels. And loom freezes up so I can't do anything but click buttons that do nothing . So I have to quit

can't read "chlist": no such variable
can't read "chlist": no such variable
    while executing
"llength $chlist"
    (procedure "GetParamsAndRunProgram" line 178)
    invoked from within
"GetParamsAndRunProgram"
    (procedure "GotoProgram" line 101)
    invoked from within
"GotoProgram                   "
    (procedure "Dlg_Process_and_Ins_Menus" line 445)
    invoked from within
"Dlg_Process_and_Ins_Menus"
    (procedure "GotoGetAProcess" line 207)
    invoked from within
"GotoGetAProcess                        "
    ("1" arm line 10)
    invoked from within
"switch -regexp -- $pr_ins  $evv(INS_COMPLETED) -    $evv(INS_ABORTED)    {}    $evv(INS_CONTINUES) {                     ;#   Instrument sets out to run process
            set ins..."
    (procedure "CreateIns" line 163)
    invoked from within
"CreateIns"
    invoked from within
".workspace.1.a.top.machcr invoke"
    ("uplevel" body line 1)
    invoked from within
"uplevel #0 [list $w invoke]"
    (procedure "tk::ButtonUp" line 23)
    invoked from within
"tk::ButtonUp .workspace.1.a.top.machcr"
    (command bound to event)[/list]

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2018, 12:45:29 AM »
Just doesn't work in Mojave. Ill wait for an update

rwdobson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2018, 09:11:47 AM »
Just to check: does "HOUSEKEEP" appear in the list of processes (under "Utilities") in the Process window? Does running a single Process (rather than an Instrument) work OK? Ostensibly, the channel extract process is failing, so no outfiles are being generated, hence the error message. These are generated by the TCL interpreter any time something unexpected happens.  I have copied your report to Trevor Wishart. I don't think this has anything to do with Mojave - it is some interaction between Soundloom and the CDP programs that is not working.  Occasionally, we find things are failing because of a file and folder permissions conflict; these can arise using third-party tools to unzip the distribution.

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2018, 06:34:18 PM »
Im sorry. Im using wine and the PC version now. I removed the Mac version. I had the error pop up for a few things. That I can't remember. Not useful. I know.

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2018, 06:40:05 PM »
Ha, I Just tried the Wine version and the same error popped up when I tried to extract the channels. I can't find utilities. So We know it is not just a Mac problem, and I don't need Wine

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #12 on: November 22, 2018, 08:49:01 PM »
Im going to reinstall Mojave. Should I install sound loom and report bugs? Or wait for an update?

rwdobson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #13 on: November 22, 2018, 10:39:00 PM »
"Utilities" is the title towards the bottom of the Process panel ("Available Process menus"  - the list of processes to use); it should show from left to right 'SOUND INFO", "SPECTRAL INFO", "PITCH INFO" and "HOUSEKEEP". If the last is not shown, that means the program "houskeep" (or "houskeep.exe" on the PC) needs renaming. It is used by the CHANNELS process.

If it is shown, the problem lies elsewhere. At the risk of stating the obvious: if channel extraction is the first step in an Instrument, it expects at least a stereo infile, and will likely fail if the infile is mono.

There should be no need to reinstall Mojave - I am sure this is only a CDP/Soundloom issue.

sleestack

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with Mojave
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2018, 12:50:16 AM »
Just please tell me when and if these issues are addressed by Trevor. Ill do a Mac install again and se what happens